Clarence Bourgoin

Please visit the shop section to see which pieces are currently available.

« My passion, it’s painting.  You can’t disguise yourself as an artist: you are, or you are not.  When I paint, I lose myself completely, and I forget all the day-to-day worries and problems.  Once my color is applied, I never go back to it.  I work my lights and my shadows so that they will be in perfect balance with one another and the ambiance, and in harmony with the colors. »

– Clarence Bourgoin

Clarence Bourgoin – Biography

Canadian painter, Clarence Bourgoin was born in 1946 in Saint-Leonard, New Brunswick.  He lived in the province of Quebec for 30 years where he earned, in part, his living as a guitar player in addition to creating his paintings, to eventually come back to his native New Brunswick with his family.

When he was a little boy, Clarence loved drawing, and would doodle pretty much everywhere he could: in his catechism workbook or on his mother’s table clothes.  One day, he saw advertised the workshop of a painter that impressed him: Claude Picard, Painter.  Sitting on the porch of his childhood home, balancing his seven-year-old skinny legs, he was considering what he saw when declared that this was what he was going to be in life: a painter.  “I knew it, I felt it in the most profound recesses of my small being,” he says, recalling this moment of revelation.  “They say there’s only one such moment in life.  Well, this was it for me.”  Claude Picard was to become one of the painters whose work he admired the most in his life, much more than anything he came to discover in Europe.

At 16, Clarence Bourgoin sells his first painting for $50.00 to a family living in Saint-Leonard, a painting that would be evaluated at $4,500.00 today.

After one of his numerous anecdotes, he is nicknamed “Landscape Hunter.”  He is a figurative landscape painter part of the artistic movement of expressionists.  His venerable career counts as many participations to symposiums of figurative art in Quebec as there are at an international scale, not to mention prizes and honors, as well as group and solo exhibitions in many international and national art galleries.

To develop art and culture in his native village of Saint-Leonard, in 2004Clarence establishes a new symposium that he calls the Rendez-vous des Artistes.  This symposium has become the biggest gathering of painters and sculptors of Eastern Canada, and Clarence is still active within its ranks as an artist, president and founder.  Furthermore, he has been president of honor to more than 30 symposiums around the province of Quebec.

Clarence Bourgoin is listed at the Fine Art Museum since 1987.  In 2005, an article is written on his work as an artist in the International Artist Magazine, titled Master Painters of the World Canada Showcase 2005.  He received a prize for his body of work from the Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Paris, while exhibiting at the Carousel of the Louvre in 2007.  These are only a few of the many artistic accomplishments of his long career.

Although he mostly works in Eastern Canada, his body of work can be found throughout Canada, the United States and in Europe.  Many articles and illustrations of his work are published nationally and internationally.

Clarence Bourgoin

The Landscape Hunter, that’s how he is known.  Member of the Figurative Art Institute, Mr. Bourgoin has traced quite the roadmap.  A painter for 60 years and listed at the Fine Art Museum of Canada, he has exhibited both nationally and internationally.

 

Artist’s Statement

As he was going to the Museum of Edmonston, New-Brunswick, for a solo exhibition, Clarence Bourgoin notices that the hunting season is well alive, as it is mentioned everywhere in the city.  At the Museum, he is asked if he has a title for his exhibition.  Taken aback, Mr. Bourgoin says that he doesn’t hunt per se.  Rather, he hunts landscapes. Thus the exhibit was titled « The Landscape Hunter, » and that’s how he’s been referred to ever since the local media published his very successful exhibition.

Clarence Bourgoin is always looking for his next painting, while travelling the roads of his native New Brunswick, and Quebec.  He observes everything around him, to a point where he could become dangerous while driving, as he might suddenly stop at the sight of a landscape that inspires him enough to sketch it.  « When I see a magnificent scene, » he says, « I hit the brakes and I stop to paint. »

His paintings illustrate landscapes from different regions of Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Iles-de-la-Madeleine.  For a long time, he painted scenes from the region of Charlevoix, where he says he put aside the rules of landscape painting, because the light of this region contradicts every concept of landscape painting such as atmospheric perspective: when a cloud passes by and blocks the sun on the foreground, that mountain on the horizon, which is supposed to be almost non existent, suddenly becomes alive.  It’s there, all black, more imposing than what it should be.

Clarence Bourgoin painted portraits for a long time, and then he switched to still life painting, but it was landscape painting that always attracted him.  He would often paint outdoors, in nature, and it became only natural to paint what he was seeing, this magnificent nature.  He never regretted that choice, and he always finds his muse in nature, even after 60 years of career.  « I don’t forget the principles of painting still lives: in nature, what was the neck of a bottle becomes the bell tower of the church, and thus, the composition of a landscape is very much the same as that of a still life. »

The paintings of Mr. Bougoin have a unique style, which can be classified as expressionist, and he doesn’t try to copy a landscape, but to give it a soul with a brush stroke that is unique to him.  His artwork has character, a bit in the image of the artist who relishes life, colors, and his outspokenness.  He is viewed as an artist, and not simply a painter.

« There can be thousands of people who will reproduce or copy what they see, and they make very nice paintings.  For me, to get to a site, install my painting material and feel the surrounding atmosphere, the cold as well as the heat that permeate me, and sketch if my time is limited, I love it.  Back in my studio with my drawings, or paintings, I reinvent these magnificent landscapes modifying them as my creativity dictates; the idea is to make them better, more beautiful, than they were before. »

For Clarence, it’s important to always aim further, to keep alive as an artist.  Every painting that he makes, he paints it so that it’s more beautiful than the one before.

« My passion, it’s painting.  You can’t disguise yourself as an artist: you are, or you are not.  When I paint, I lose myself completely, and I forget all the day-to-day worries and problems.  Once my color is applied, I never go back to it.  I work my lights and my shadows so that they will be in perfect balance with one another and the ambiance, and in harmony with the colors. »

 

Education

1990 – 1993        Mission Renaissance, Montréal

                            Line Drawing, Light and Shadows

                            Painting

                            Self-taught

 

Honours, Prizes and Mentions (selected)

2019                   Academician Officer and Amabassador of the Arts of New Brunswick, Mondial Art Academia of Paris

2018                   Inauguration of Clarence Bourgoin Parc, with bronze monument of Clarence Bourgoin

2016                   Master in Fine Art – AIBAQ

2016                   Advocate For The Arts, Sheila Hugh MacKay Foundation

2014                   Member Emeritus – IAF

2009                   Diploma of LIPIR’RÉVÉ di LINCINT Brotherhood

2009                   Certificate granted by the College of Mayors and Aldermen of Lincent-Racour-Pellaine, Province of                                 Liège, Belgique

2009                   Certificate of Recognition from the Mayor of Hévis, Hongrie

2007                   Inducted Member of the St-Christophe Guild, Lincent, Belgique

2002                   First Mention, Rencontre des Arts

 

Galleries and Representation (selected)

2018                   Galerie du Vieux St-Jean

2015                   Galerie d’art Meraki, Paquetville, NB

2013                   Galerie Hang’Arts, Jonquière, QC

2009 to 2013     Galerie Hervey Lessard, Tadoussac, QC

2009 to 2010     Galerie Pépin d’art, Laval, QC

2010 to 2011     West End Gallery, Edmunton, AB and Victoria, BC

2010                   Galerie d’art Christian Trudel, Joliette, QC

2007 to 2008     Galerie Mosaïque, Dieppe, NB

2007                   Galerie d’art les imagies, Sutton, QC

2004 to 2009     Galerie du nouveau monde, Montreal, QC

2001 to 2006     Seacoast Gallery, St-Andrews, NB

 

Galleries and Representation (selected) – cont’d

2005 to 2006     Galerie d’art Suzanne Robert, Mont-Tremblant, QC

2002 to 2004     Light House Gallery, Moncton, NB

2002 to 2003     Kensington Fine Art, Calgary, AB

 

 Solo Exhibitions (selected)

2015                   Le Capitol Theatre of Moncton

2009 et 2013     Historical Museum of Madawaska, Edmunston, New-    Brunswick

2007                   Hotel Delta Beauséjour, Moncton, New Brunswick

1999                   Regional Museum of Vaudreuil-Soulanges

1991                   Museum of Restigouche, National Centre of Exhibition, Campbellton

 

International Exhibitions (selected)

2006 to 2010     International Symposium of Racour, Belgique – André Coppens

2009                   Héviz Budapest, Art Harris, Hongrie

2007                   Carrousel du Louvre, Parie, France

1996                   Conservatory Aristide Bruant, Andrézieux-Bouthéon, France

 

Group Exhibitions (selected)

2003 to 2019     Rendez-vous des artistes, Saint-Léonard, Nouveau-Brunswick

2010 to 2019     Symposium of the Arts of Drummondville

1998 to 2015     Symposium of Villages en Couleurs, L’Anse-Saint-Jean

2005 to 2015     Symposium Home of the Great Painters of Chesterville

2003 to 2013     Symposium of the Arts of Danville

2003 to 2006     Art Work Marketing Agency of New-Brunswick (permanent exhibit)

2000, 2004,        Symposium of Baie-Comeau

2008, 2013

2011                   Hotel Hilton Bonaventure, Montreal

2006 to 2010     Symposium of Sept-Îles

2007                   Baie-St-Paul: 10 provinces, 10 artists, 10 days (traveling exhibition)

1994 to 2013     Rencontre des arts, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu

2006                   Symposium of Îles-de-la-Madeleine

2003, 2006         Symposium of Quebec Carnival

2004 to 2006     La fête aux jardins, Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec

2000 to 2002     Symposium of the Master, Beauport

2000                   National Salon of Quebec Art Galleries

2000                   Symposium of Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu

1996 to 1998     Baie en Art, Valleyfield, Quebec

1994                   Baldwin Cartier Foundation, Pointe-Claire

 

 Collections (selected)

Auberge Harris, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC

La Capitale, General Insurance, Quebec, QC

The Honourable Bernard Landry, ex-First Minister of Quebec

The Honourable David Cliché, Minister of Tourism, Quebec

Denis Lapointe, Mayor of Valleyfield, QC

Savoie Group, St-Quentin, NB

Molson O’Keefe Brewery, Montreal, QC

Energy of New Brunswick

The Honourable Frank McKenna, First Minister of New Brunswick

Lotto Quebec, Quebec

 

Interviews and Publications

2014                   L’Acadie des Terres et Forêts, Acadian World Congress

2005                   Master Painter of the World (Canada Showcase) – International Artist Magazine

1995 to 2000     Guide de Roussan – Painters of Québec

1998 to 2006     Magazin’Art, Biennial Directory of Canadian Artists

1999                   Magazine Art Business News

1990                   International Sales Book – Mayers

1990                   Auction prices of American Artists

 

Associations

Figurative Art Institute

Acadian Association of Professional Artists of New Brunswick

Member of the International Academy of Fine Art of Quebec

Mondial Art Academia of Paris

Clarence Bourgoin

Pour voir les œuvres disponibles, accédez à la section boutique.

Ma passion, c’est la peinture. On ne se déguise pas en artiste, on l’est ou on ne l’est pas. Lorsque je peins, je m’abandonne complètement en oubliant tous les tracas du quotidien. Une fois que j’applique ma couleur je ne reviens plus là-dessus. Je travail particulièrement mes ombres et mes lumières afin quelle soit en parfait accord avec l’ambiance et en harmonie avec les couleurs.

– Clarence Bourgoin

Peintre Canadien, Clarence Bourgoin est né en 1946 à Saint-Léonard, Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a résidé 30 ans au Québec où il a gagné, en partie, sa vie comme guitariste en plus de peindre ses tableaux, pour ensuite revenir s’installer au Nouveau-Brunswick avec sa famille.

Quand il était petit, Clarence aimait beaucoup dessiner, et il le faisait partout là où ça lui paraissait normal : dans ses cahiers de catéchèse ou sur les nappes de sa mère.  Un jour il aperçût, annoncé, l’atelier d’un peintre qui l’a grandement marqué : Claude Picard, Artiste-Peintre.  Assis sur le perron de sa maison d’enfance alors qu’il se remémorait l’annonce, et en se balançant « les petites pattes de sept ans, » il déclara que c’est ça qu’il serait dans la vie : un artiste-peintre.  « Je le savais, je le sentais dans le plus profond de moi, » dit-il en se remémorant cet instant de vérité.  « On dit qu’il n’y en a qu’une seule fois dans une vie, un moment comme ça.  Pour moi, c’était ça. »  Claude Picard fût l’un des peintres qu’il a admiré le plus dans sa vie, beaucoup plus que n’importe quelle œuvre vue en Europe.

À 16 ans, Clarence Bourgoin vendait son premier tableau pour la somme de $50.00 à une famille de Saint-Léonard, tableau qui aurait aujourd’hui tout près d’une valeur de $4,500.00.

À la suite d’une autre de ses innombrables anecdotes, il est surnommé « chasseur de paysages. » Il est un peintre figuratif paysagiste faisant partie du mouvement expressionniste.  Le résumé de sa vénérable carrière énumère autant de participations à des symposiums d’art figuratif au Québec et à l’échelle internationale que de prix et de mentions d’honneur, sans compter ses expositions de groupe ou solo dans diverses galeries nationales et internationales.

Afin de développer l’art et la culture dans son village natal de Saint-Léonard, il fonda le Rendez-vous des Artistes en 2004. Ce symposium est devenu le plus grand rassemblement d’artistes peintres et sculpteurs à l’Est du Canada et Clarence y est toujours bien présent comme président fondateur et artiste exposant. De plus, il compte à son actif plus d’une trentaine de présidences d’honneur à divers autres symposiums présentés un peu partout dans la province du Québec.

Clarence Bourgoin est répertorié au Musée des Beaux-Arts depuis 1987.  En 2005, on lui consacre un article dans l’International Artist Magazine, intitulé Master Painters of the World Canada Showcase 2005.  Il s’est vu remettre un prix spécial pour son œuvre pas la Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Paris lors d’une exposition au Caroussel du Louvre en 2007.  Ceux-ci ne sont que quelques exemples des accomplissements artistiques de sa longue carrière.

Bien qu’il œuvre la majeure partie de son temps dans l’est Canadien, l’ensemble de sa production est distribuée à travers le Canada, les États-Unis et en Europe. Plusieurs articles et illustrations de son travail paraissent dans des publications nationales et internationales.

Clarence Bourgoin

Le chasseur de paysages, c’est ainsi qu’on le nomme.  Membre de l’Institut des arts figuratifs, M. Bourgoin a la feuille de route bien garnie.  Peintre depuis 60 ans répertorié au Musée des Beaux-arts du Canada, il a exposé un peu partout dans le monde.

 

Démarche artistique

En se rendant au Musée d’Edmonston, Nouveau-Brunswick, où il allait accrocher ses tableaux pour une exposition solo, Clarence Bourgoin remarque que la période de chasse va de bon train, puisqu’elle est mentionnée partout.  Au musée, on lui demande s’il a un titre pour son exposition : prit au dépourvu, M. Bourgoin dit alors que lui, il ne chasse pas.  Plutôt, il va à la chasse aux paysages.  Son exposition fut ainsi intitulée « Le Chasseur de Paysages, » et c’est ainsi qu’on le surnomme depuis, après que ce titre ait été médiatisé dans les journaux locaux.

Clarence Bourgoin est toujours à la recherche de son prochain tableau, en parcourant les routes de son Nouveau-Brunswick natal et du Québec, il observe tout ce qui l’entoure, à un tel point qu’il se dit dangereux au volant, car il peut s’arrêter brusquement s’il voit quelque chose qui l’inspire suffisamment pour en faire un croquis, une étude.  « Quand je vois une scène magnifique, » dit-il, « je mets les freins et m’arrête pour le peindre. »

Ses toiles illustrent des paysages de plusieurs régions du Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et des Iles-de-la-Madeleine.  Il a longtemps peint des scènes de la région de Charlevoix, où il dit avoir mis de côté les règles de la peinture, car la lumière de cette région dément ce que l’on nous dit sur la perspective atmosphérique : quand un nuage passe et cache le soleil à l’avant-plan, la montagne au loin, qu’on nous a dit doit être presque disparue, devient soudainement bien vivante, et elle est là, toute noire, plus imposante qu’elle ne le devrait.

Clarence Bourgoin a longtemps peint des portraits, et ensuite il s’est adonné aux natures mortes, mais c’est le paysage qui l’attirait toujours.  Il peignait très souvent dehors, en nature, et il lui parut logique un jour de peindre ce qu’il voyait.  Il n’a jamais regretté son choix, et il y retrouve sa muse encore, après 60 ans de carrière.  « Mais je n’oublie pas les principes de base de la nature morte : dans la nature, le goulot de la bouteille devient le clocher de l’église, et donc, la composition d’une scène paysagère n’est pas trop différente que celle de la nature morte. »

Les œuvres de M. Bourgoin ont un style unique et il n’essaye pas de copier un paysage, mais de lui apporter une âme avec un coup de pinceau propre a lui. Ses œuvres ont du caractère, un peu à l’image de l’artiste qui aime la vie, les couleurs et son franc-parler. On le définit avant tout comme un artiste et non simplement un peintre.

« Il peut y avoir des milliers de personne qui vont reproduire ou copier ce qu’ils voient et font de belles toiles.  Pour moi, le fait de me rendre sur les lieux, de m’installer et de ressentir l’atmosphère, le froid comme la chaleur, de m’en imprégner et faire des croquis si le temps me manque, j’adore ça.   De retour à mon atelier avec mes esquisses ou mes peintures, je réinvente ces paysages magnifiques en les modifiant au fil de ma création; l’idée est de les rendre plus beau qu’il ne l’était au départ. »

Pour Clarence, il faut toujours viser plus loin pour rester vivant comme artiste.  Chaque tableau qu’il peint, il le fait pour qu’il soit encore plus beau que le dernier qu’il a peint.

« Ma passion, c’est la peinture. On ne se déguise pas en artiste; on l’est ou on ne l’est pas.  Lorsque je peins, je m’abandonne complètement en oubliant tous les tracas du quotidien. Une fois que j’applique ma couleur, je ne reviens plus là-dessus.  Je travaille particulièrement mes ombres et mes lumières afin quelle soit en parfait équilibre avec l’ambiance et en harmonie avec les couleurs. »

Éducation

1990 – 1993      Mission Renaissance, Montréal

                          Dessin linéaire, ombres et lumières

                          Peinture

                          Formation autodidacte

 

Prix et mentions (sélectionnés)

2019                  Officier Académicien et Ambassadeur des Arts du Nouveau-Brunswick, Mondial Art Academia de Paris

2018                  Inauguration du parc Clarence Bourgoin, avec monument de bronze de Clarence Bourgoin

2016                  Maître en beaux-arts – AIBAQ

2016                  Plaidoyer pour les arts, foundation Sheila Hugh MacKay

2014                  Membre émérite – IAF

2009                  Diplôme de la confrérie de LIPIR’RÉVÉ di LINCINT

2009                  Certificat décerné par le collège des Bourgmestres et Échevins de Lincent-Racour-Pellaine,

                          Province de Liège, Belgique

2009                  Certificat de reconnaissance de la Mairie Hévis, Hongrie

2007                  Intronisé membre de la Guilde de St-Christophe, Lincent, Belgique

2002                  Première mention, Rencontre des Arts

 

Galeries et représentation (sélectionnées)

2018                  Galerie du Vieux St-Jean

2015                  Galerie d’art Meraki, Paquetville, NB

2013                  Galerie Hang’Arts, Jonquière, QC

2010 à 2011      West End Gallery, Edmunton, AB et Victoria, BC

2010                  Galerie d’art Christian Trudel, Joliette, QC

2009 à 2013      Galerie Hervey Lessard, Tadoussac, QC

2009 à 2010      Galerie Pépin d’art, Laval, QC

2007 à 2008      Galerie Mosaïque, Dieppe, NB

2007                  Galerie d’art les imagies, Sutton, QC

2005 à 2006      Galerie d’art Suzanne Robert, Mont-Tremblant, QC

2004 à 2009      Galerie du nouveau monde, Montréal, QC

2001 à 2006      Seacoast Gallery, St-Andrews, NB

2002 à 2004      Light House Gallery, Moncton, NB

2002 à 2003      Kensington Fine Art, Calgary, AB

 

Expositions solos (sélectionnées)

2015                  Théâtre Le Capitol de Moncton

2009 et 2013    Musée historique du Madawaska, Edmunston, Nouveau-Brunswick

2007                  Hôtel Delta Beauséjour, Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick

1999                  Musée régional de Vaudreuil-Soulanges

1991                  Musée de Restigouche, Centre National d’Exposition, Campbellton

 

Expositions internationales (sélectionnées)

2006 à 2010      Symposium international de Racour, Belgique – André Coppens

2009                  Héviz Budapest, Art Harris, Hongrie

2007                  Carrousel du Louvre, Parie, France

1996                  Conservatoire Aristide Bruant, Andrézieux-Bouthéon, France

 

Expositions de groupe (sélectionnées)

2003 à 2019      Rendez-vous des artistes, Saint-Léonard, Nouveau-Brunswick

2010 à 2019      Symposium des arts de Drummondville

1998 à 2015      Symposium des Villages en Couleurs, L’Anse-Saint-Jean

2005 à 2015      Symposium L’accueil des grands peintres de Chesterville

2003 à 2013      Symposium des Arts de Danville

2003 à 2006      Agence de mise en marché d’oeuvres d’arts du Nouveau-Brunswick (exposition permanente)

2000, 2004        Symposium de Baie-Comeau

2008, 2013

2011                  Hôtel Hilton Bonaventure, Montréal

2006 à 2010      Symposium de Sept-Îles

2007                  Baie-St-Paul: 10 provinces, 10 artistes, 10 jours (exposition itinérante)

1994 à 2013      Rencontre des arts, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu

2006                  Symposium des Îles-de-la-Madeleine

2003, 2006        Symposium du Carnaval de Québec

2004 à 2006      La fête aux jardins, Lieutenant-gouverneur du Québec

2000 à 2002      Symposium des Maîtres, Beauport

2000                  Salon national des galeries d’art du Québec

2000                  Symposium Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu

1996 à 1998      Baie en Art, Valleyfield, Québec

1994                  Fondation Baldwin Cartier, Pointe-Claire

 

Collections (sélectionnées)

Auberge Harris, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC

La Capitale, assurances générales, Québec, QC

L’Honorable Bernard Landry, ex-premier ministre du Québec

L’Honorable David Cliché, ministre du tourisme, Québec

Denis Lapointe, Maire de Valleyfield, QC

Groupe Savoie, St-Quentin, NB

Brasserie Molson O’Keefe, Montréal, QC

Énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’Honorable Frank McKenna, premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick

Loto Québec, Québec

 

Entrevues et publications

2014                  L’Acadie des Terres et Forêts, Congrès Mondial Acadien

2005                  Master Painter of the World (Canada Showcase) – International Artist Magazine

1995 à 2000      Guide de Roussan – Peintres du Québec

1998 à 2006      Magazin’Art, Répertoire Biennal des Artistes Canadiens

1999                  Magazine Art Business News

1990                  Livre des ventes internationals – Mayers

1990                  Auction prices of American Artists

 

Associations

Institut des Arts Figuratifs

Association Acadienne des Artistes Professionels du Nouveau Brunswick

Membre de l’Académie Internationale des Beaux-Arts du Québec

Mondial Art Academia de Paris